Alpha Omega Charitable Trust Report 2019/20

The Trustees met regularly prior to Corona-19 initiating unprecedented global challenges. The Trustees take this opportunity to offer very best wishes to those who may have lost family, friends or colleagues during this awful time.

In response to Covid-19, a working group was established within Alpha Omega London to draft guidance to support a safe return to practice for our members. Following positive response to this guidance, we were invited to join the College of General Dentistry Taskforce and Dr Jonathan Lack represented Alpha Omega London. The Alpha Omega London Chapter and Charitable Trust have since been recognised as a Founding Contributor of the College of General Dentistry providing £500 in support of its establishment together with its academic and professional mission.

The Trustees are delighted to have supported the Dean of the Tel Aviv Dental School, Professor Ervin Weiss, during his term of office and wish him well in his academic retirement. The Trust recently contributed £20,000 toward a cone beam scanner for patients at the School and those referred from further afield. We offer heartiest congratulations to the new Dean, Professor Shlomo Matalon, and look forward to collaborating on new initiatives in the future.

After many years of excellent collaboration with the Hadassah School of Dental Medicine, the Trust is also delighted to be working with the Dean, Professor Aaron Palmon. We have assisted with the purchase of essential sterilisation cassettes and the establishment of a ‘Digital Laboratory’ to support dental education and patient care. The Trust has already sent $15,000 and a further $10,000 will follow. Also at Hadassah, the Ino Sciaky Prize for Oral Medicine was awarded to Dr Svetlana Feldman together with a $500 bursary.

Responding to an urgent need following extensive discussions with Professor Eli Machtei, Head of the Graduate Dental School at the Rambam Medical Centre in Haifa, the Trust agreed to support essential paediatric dental care for refugee children in Israel with a grant of £5,000 and we await the report on the impact of this support.

In association with Mrs Susan Zamet, the Trust continues to offer the ‘Dr John Zamet Memorial Prize in Periodontal Research’ in recognition of John’s significant contribution to clinical periodontology. Dr Niamh Coffey has been confirmed as the 2019 prize recipient for her study into ‘Periodontal Health in Adults with Cystic Fibrosis’ but presentation of the certificate and £2,000 award will be delayed until next year due to Covid-19.

In addition to the above, the Trust is supporting the following projects:

Aleh Rehabilitation Centres Supporting safety with PPE in response to Covid-19 . £2,880
Beit Issie Shapiro Clinic Endodontic equipment, surgical tools, anesthetic supplies. £2,619
Dental Volunteers of Israel Supporting safety with PPE in response to Covid-19. £2,500
Dental Volunteers of Israel Replacement of air conditioning and heating units. £2,500
Norwood Oral hygiene care for residential special care patients. £2,851
Shalva Oral health products and oral health education programme. £2,500

The Trust continues to offer awards to both undergraduate students and postgraduate specialist trainees, the latter being in association with the KCL Dental Institute with the agreement recently being renewed for a further two years. Due to Covid-19 and the cancellation of conferences, no awards have been granted this year.

Royalties from the BDJ book “Tooth Surface Loss” by Andrew Eder and Richard Ibbetson have once again been generously divided between the BDA Benevolent Fund and the Alpha Omega Charitable Trust. A new edition is under preparation with a launch planned for 2021.

Following a successful start to the Alpha Omega London Chapter programme under the Chairmanship of Dr Richard Horwitz and with the support of our colleagues in the dental trade and with Henry Schein kindly donating £13,250, the Trust has still received £20,450 in support of its charitable activities despite global challenges due to Covid-19.

Finally, I wish to acknowledge the hard work and commitment of our Trustees and the many friends and colleagues who give so freely of their time on behalf of the Alpha Omega London Chapter and Charitable Trust. Special thanks go to Dr Richard Horwitz as Chair of the Chapter and Dr Aron Marcus for taking on the role of Treasurer.


Professor Andrew Eder (Chairman, Alpha Omega London Charitable Trust)

Dr Mervyn Druian (Trustee and Past AO President)

Dr Aron Marcus (Trustee & Treasurer)

Dr Stephen Handelsman (Trustee & Secretary)

Dr Eddie Scher (Trustee)

Dr Richard Horwitz (Chair, AO London Chapter)

Dr John Wolffe (Trustee and Past AO President)

  • Your browser is out-of-date!

    Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now